The 'Rockstar' Life Isn't All It's Cracked Up To Be, According To Fabian Secon

RnB/Hip Hop | Thursday 25th May 2017 | Sean

Fast-rising UK singer Fabian Secon and producer 5ive Beatz have announced their forthcoming joint EP, Until We Meet Again, set to be released on the 23rd of June.

The first taste of what to expect comes courtesy of 'Rockstar', a trap-infused R&B banger that showcases both artists’ greatest assets—Fabian’s richly soulful vocals and 5ive’s thumping bass-heavy beats. 

Watch the J Mornix-directed video below:

Fabian explains, "The mood for the video was to reflect the loneliness inside fame and the sense of isolation from the girl who doesn't care anymore." 

Until We Meet Again is the follow-up to Fabian’s debut EP, Don’t Disturb, and sees the coming together of two artists from London who have both taken major strides over the past couple of years. 

In-demand producer 5ive Beatz has seen his career skyrocket with multiple production credits on rapper Nines’ UK top 5 album One Foot Out, such as 'Trapper of the Year', as well as productions for BBC Sound Of 2017 winner Ray BLK, Krept & Konan, Stormzy, P Money, 67, Abra Cadabra and more. Fabian meanwhile has been busy working with the likes of AJ Tracey, C Biz, Tayá, Geovarn and Young T & Bugsey on upcoming music.

“5ive and I met online around January 2016”, Fabian says. “Having a mutual appreciation for each other’s talent, we started working instantly. The vibe was very natural, and we spent a few months experimenting. Our aim for Until We Meet Again was to fuse alternative R&B, pop rock and trap elements to create a fresh, progressive body of work. The EP tells the story of a turbulent and troubled relationship, so there are dark emotions that run throughout.”

The four-track EP was helmed in its entirety by 5ive Beatz (songwriter/producer) and Fabian Secon (songwriter/lead vocals) with co-writing from Fabian’s father—Grammy Award-nominated, multiplatinum-selling songwriter and producer Lucas Secon. Peep the tracklisting below: 

1. Wilderness

2. Rockstar

3. Wasted Days

4. Crashing Waves

Until We Meet Again will be available to download and stream on all digital outlets from 23rd June.

For the latest updates and news, follow Fabian and 5ive online:

YouTube: Fabian | 5ive

Twitter: Fabian | 5ive

SoundCloud: Fabian | 5ive

Instagram: Fabian | 5ive