Maya Jane Coles L.P. and remixes

House | Monday 17th June 2013 | jim

About a month ago Maya Jane Coles announced that she would be releasing a full-length, 12-track L.P. called comfort. Having been a very active member in not only her native UK dance scene, but also the global dance scene, the announcement of her album, coming just a week after her essential mix, is eagerly anticipated. According to Resident Advisor, Maya Jane Coles is responsible for producing, engineering, and mixing the entirety of her debut album, and even laid down some of her own vocals on two tracks, and also designed the artwork. Looks like the petite Coles has been pretty busy. Along with her own voice the album also features contributions from Tricky, Miss Kittin and Alpines just to name a few. With such a massive list of contributors and a release date of the 28th of June via Cole’s own I/AM/ME label it looks set to be a massive hit this summer in time for the later festivals.

The lead single, 'Everything', was released and is available to stream at her soundcloud below, as well as the video. The track features Karin Park on vocals and is an excellent example of why Maya Jane Coles has seen such meteoric rise in the dance world in just five years. The warm bass beats throughout the song as a succession of rippling drums adds another level of depth.  As the song progresses further elements of synths buzz and dark distortion adds an atmospheric overtone that is heightened so much more by Karin Park’s stereotypically Scandinavian, ghostly tone that echoes through the whole song. This song would seem just as at home on drive-time radio as it would in the middle of the deepest house sets.

The video reflects the strange and atmospheric nature of the song.


Since the announcement of the release of the album, and this lead-single, the song has received a number of different remix treatments-including one from Breach, aka Ben Westbeech. While still using the same song, the original is almost unrecognisable in this ‘bassy’ and lively version from Breach. The warm bass is still there, but has been enhanced and made more upbeat with higher synths, leading to a drop after about two minutes into a bouncy deep house track. Breach has somehow managed to take Maya Jane Coles original and morph it into something different, taking on a new persona that would sit far better in a more bass heavy set.


Expect more remixes and the rest of the album to be dropping very soon.


The full track listing for the L.P. Comfort, out on the 28th of June, can be found below.

1. Comfort

2. Easier to Hide

3. Burning Bright feat. Kim Ann Foxman

4. Dreamer

5. Blame feat. Nadine Shah

6. Stranger

7. Everything feat. Karin Park

8. Fall from Grace feat. Catherine Pockson of Alpines

9. Wait for you feat. Tricky

10. When I’m in Love feat Thomas Knights

11. Take a Ride feat Miss Kittin

12. Come Home


Jim Roberts