April's Vital Intake: New Blood 013

Drum and Bass | Monday 22nd April 2013 | Jenny

The start of Spring signals the start of a new term over at Med School headquarters; and time for the latest release in this groundbreaking series of compilations.

I am continually fascinated by the vast array of sounds that are produced by the artists on the sister label of Hospital Records – there seems to be no musical territories left unexplored, and this 14 track album is no exception.

It opens with ‘Unfolding’, a softly cascading tune from the ethereal Etherwood (one of the most promising producers on the scene in my eyes) -a perfect follow up to 2012’s ‘Spoken’. We are reminded of the effortlessly smooth production of Dexcell in ‘Don’t Look Back’, whilst previous New Blood intake Anile injects us with the quietly bubbling ‘Another Year’.

Alongside residents, the School has hand selected an intake of fresh and exciting talent to nurture, giving the label a genuine diversity across the board. Attention is brought to the darkly atmospheric ‘Plasticity’ from Minor Rain and the catchily disjointed sounds of ‘Kaikaki’ by Bakai, and I particularly enjoy the deeply layered qualities in both Joe Ford and Drifta & Static’s tracks.

The standout track for me comes from Keeno and Whiney in the stunning form of ‘Isokime’ –a glistening piece of understated drum and bass that really sets the tone for another year of exciting conception from the New Blood class of 2013.


Pre order your copy HERE and don’t forget to tune into the live broadcast on Med School Youtube channel on the day of release – 29th April. 


Jenny Allbrook