So Much Fun – Young Thug album review

RnB/Hip Hop | Tuesday 27th August 2019 | Jake

Young Thug has been relatively quiet in 2019, sticking to features and tours. But that all changed very suddenly, after he surprisingly announced a new album just days before its release. Thug’s latest album – titled So Much Fun – is, well, so much fun.

Differing from previous work which had a clear vision (such as Easy Breezy Beautiful Thugger Girls with its melodic, country influences and booming, crooning emotive tracks), So Much Fun sees Thug whimsically explore sounds he enjoys. That isn’t to say he experiments with these sounds, the album is neatly refined, and every song sounds meticulously worked on. The vetting process for this album sounds infinitely stricter than that of last year’s collaborative effort Slime Language, which feature a mishmash of his YSL Records labelmates.



Thug confirmed in recent interviews, however, that the album got its name by the approach taken to making the music. Saying he wanted So Much Fun to be listened to “as you drive to Coachella”, Thug explained to the radio DJ Big Boy that he wanted to make a summer album and simply enjoyed making the album.

With Wheezy dominating the lion’s share of production, there is certainly a summer feel. Party anthems, hard-hitting bravado raps and plenty of sun-kissed hits litter the 19-track album. It’s relatively low-risk with the only glaring mistake a misguided late feature addition of Machine Gun Kelly to the song ‘Ecstasy’. Before the late change Thug rapped solidly for three minutes, now he is cut off incongruously around the minute and a half mark.

Among many highlights are stellar features from Gunna (twice) and Quavo, the latter delivering an anthemic chorus to ‘Circle of Bosses’. Meanwhile, there’s arguably no track released this summer as infectiously fun as ‘Surf’, and long-time collaborator Lil Uzi Vert stars on the melodic ‘What’s the Move?’.

Watch the video for ‘Surf’ below.